Secret Daughter – Book Review

August 16, 2011

in Books

Secret Daughter is one of those books that takes you by surprise. After reading the first couple of chapters, I expected to walk away from this book not liking it at all. The story centers around two mothers, Kavita and Sommer. Kavita lives in rural India while Sommer lives in California.

Kavita opens the novel by giving birth to a baby girl. The child is killed because the family can not afford a daughter. Kavita's second child is also a girl, but before Kavita's husband can take her tiny daughter, Kavita summons the courage and strength to travel two days to deliver the girl to an orphanage in Mumbai.

What follows is a sometimes heartbreaking sometimes spirit lifting story of motherhood and adoption. It is also a great look at India through several different viewpoints from the desperation of the slums to the beauty of the temples.

The shifting perspectives in the book don't make the story difficult to follow but there is a bit of choppiness in the transitions from section to section. The choppiness isn't enough to detract from the beauty of the story.

Join The #Sitsbooks Book Club on September 22nd for the book discussion. 6:00 pm PST / 7:00 pm MST / 8:00 pm CST / 9:00 pm EST. Don't forget to use the hashtag, #SITSBooks. It makes finding us super easy! The author Shilpi Somaya Gowda will be joining us.  You can follow her on Twtter at @shilpigowda.

Books to Read

The following two tabs change content below.
Lindsey Renuard is a blogger, YouTube beauty expert, and the Managing Editor of the Skiatook Journal.

{ 1 comment }

Debbie Gerber August 31, 2011 at 8:48 pm

This is a fun site with great book reviews. I will be back to find more fun things that you recommend. I haven't read or heard of this book before. Thanks

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: